APC wins in 18 councils in Ondo


The All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner in the 18 local governments in Ondo State.

Local government election was held last Saturday and seven parties participated in the poll.

Announcing the election results yesterday, the Chairman of the Ondo Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC), Prof. Yomi Dinakin, said there was no contestation in five local governments.

Dinakin, who declared APC candidates winners of the election in the five local governments, said it was in line with the Electoral Act.

He said he acted within the law, which stated that where there are no contestations, any candidate validly nominated should be declared winner.

Dinakin listed the five councils to include Akoko North East where Mr. Omojola Asimiyu emerged, Ose Local Government (Dennis Adekunle), Ifedore Local Government (Alex Akinyemi Oladimeji), Odigbo Local Government (Akinsurojo  Margret) and Irele Local Government (Segun Ajimatokin).

Other local governments where the APC won were Ese-Odo where Folawole Sibasi polled 29,360. In Akoko South East, the APC candidate, Paul Adorujoye, scored 14, 174 votes.

Mr. Gbenga Olaniyi garnered 24,238 votes in Akure South, Olamigoke Olatuwase got 40,009 votes in Ilaje, while Akisuroje Temitayo got 13,250 votes in Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo.

In Okitipupa, the APC candidate, Akinrinwa Igbekele, got 34,721 votes, Akinsulire Ebenezer got 54,292 to win in Ondo West, Chief Adegbegi Samuel polled 48,742 to win in Owo, while Bankole Ogbesetoye got 10,541 votes to win in Akure North.

The APC candidates also won in Idanre, Akoko North West, Akoko South West and Ondo East local governments

Certificates of return were being presented to the candidates at press time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here